Entire Assembly

The City and Borough of Juneau Assembly

The City and Borough of Juneau is a home-rule municipality. The City and Borough of Juneau Assembly has nine members including the Mayor who serves as presiding officer. Assembly members in the City and Borough of Juneau are elected on rotating three year terms at the regular municipal election held each first Tuesday in October. The Assembly’s work is to set policy for the city manager to enact, as CBJ is a “city manager” form of government.

  • If you see a problem that needs fixing within CBJ, please use the “Connect With City Hall” form, and your comments will be forwarded to the City Manager’s office for appropriate department follow up.
  • You may send a “web form” message to the Assembly by clicking here and selecting “Entire Assembly” from the Recipient drop-down list.
  • To send an email to the Assembly use the webform option above or from your own email program, send it to BoroughAssembly@juneau.org.

Please understand that all correspondence to the Assembly is an “open record” in accordance with the State of Alaska Public Records Act and becomes a public document. Please also note that the Assembly members cannot read or respond to constituent mail that involves any matter which is or may become the subject to an appeal before the Assembly.

Assembly fills District 1 Assembly seat vacated by Jesse Kiehl

At a Special Assembly meeting held on Monday, January 14, 2019, Assemblymember Jesse Kiehl resigned his District 1 Assembly seat. Mayor Weldon thanked Mr. Kiehl for his service to our community and wished him all the best as he undertakes a different calling to public service as our State Senator beginning January 15. The Assembly then appointed Alicia Hughes-Skandijs to fill the seat vacated by Mr. Kiehl until the next regular election on October 1, 2019.  Ms. Hughes-Skandijs was then sworn into office and began her term immediately.

Ms. Hughes-Skandijs has lived in Juneau for the past 12 years having moved here to attend school at the University of Alaska Southeast. After receiving her Bachelor of Science degree in Mathematics from UAS, she is employed by the State of Alaska as a Grants Administrator.

She has served in leadership roles with the Alaska State Employees Association (ASEA) both as a chair and treasurer for the Juneau chapter as well as serving as the contract negotiator for the Southeast Region and on the Central Labor Council. During the past few years, Ms. Hughes-Skandijs has broadened her community volunteer efforts and is currently a member of the Alaska Folk Festival Board and a member of the League of Women Voters.

In her letter of interest Ms. Hughes-Skandijs stated, “My involvement in all of these organizations has been based on a desire to give back to a community which has given me so much, and I can think of no greater way to do that than to serve on the Assembly. I believe that the city will face challenging decisions in the days to come, but I also believe that the city has a bright future ahead of it, and I’d like to be a part of that process, steering us towards prosperity.”

The Assembly thanks all of the applicants who offered their service to the community.

For more information, please contact the City Manager’s Office at 586-5240.