CBJ Stock Image

Assembly Mining Subcommittee to meet Nov. 9, application period open for two public seats

October 31, 2017 – News

The Assembly Mining Subcommittee will meet on Thursday, Nov. 9 at noon in City Hall, conference room 224. It plans to discuss the appointment process for additional committee seats, including two public members.

Currently, the subcommittee consists of Assembly members Maria Gladziszewski, Norton Gregory (chair), and Beth Weldon. Mayor Ken Koelsch established the body during the June 26 Assembly meeting in response to a proposal to revise the city’s existing mining ordinance.

The goal of the Mining Subcommittee is to:

  • Recommend what actions should be taken on the proposed mining ordinance
  • Recommend a process, including a public process
  • Recommend if the subcommittee should include additional members
  • Recommend a timeline
  • Return recommendations to the Assembly Committee of the Whole

Earlier this month, a report analyzing the CBJ’s mining code as it relates and intersects with state and federal mining law was released. The report was written for the CBJ Law Department by Bob Loeffler of Jade North, a natural resources consulting firm. Read the report here.

On Nov. 9, the Mining Subcommittee plans to discuss the process for filling in the remaining members of the committee. The committee will eventually consist of three Assembly members, two Planning Commissioners and two general public members.

Interested members of the public are encouraged to fill out a CBJ Board Application and submit it to the City Clerk’s office through email city.clerk@juneau.org or in person at City Hall, 155 S. Seward St.

For more information, contact City Manager Rorie Watt at 586-5240 or rorie.watt@juneau.org.